Aging Fearlessly!

What do you need to age fearlessly?

You need physical fitness, cognitive fitness, emotional fitness and social fitness! + courage and resilience.

You might think that you are doomed to die young because of your genetic inheritance or your personal story of illnesses and accidents.

Wait a minute!

Did you know that aging has 30% to do with your genes and 70% to do with your lifestyle?

Will you sit on your genetics or will you rise to what you have control over: your lifestyle choices?

There are 2 types of age:

  1. Your chronological age: the number of years you have lived
  2. Your fitness age: the age your body is at based on your cardio-vascular fitness and your lung capacity. You can measure it here: www.worldfitnesslevel.org/#/report

Reading the stories of people who accomplish incredible feats at an advanced age is also a wonderful way to motivate yourself: Betty Holston Smith who still runs endurances races at 79 years old or Martha Loats who went sky-diving for her 90th birthday. She says: “I aspire to inspire before I expire”!
The goal of aging well is stretch our health span.

This week my friends ask yourself  the following question:” How can I transform my aging mind-set?
Can I think of aging in a different way? 
Looking at the 4 components of aging, physical, cognitive, emotional and social, where do I see more passivity, helplessness or fear? Where am I doing really well?


This is my friend Eva 99 years old going out for her daily walk! Isn’t she amazing?
She is my role model!

Have a healthy week!
 Lise

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started