IC Face to Face


Facing your inner critic!

I co-existed with mine for years. Our relationship was
rocky to say the least. Sometimes I would fold under the weight of its constant criticism and put downs:
” You can’t do that “
” You are too stupid ” 
” You can never do anything right “
 ” You’re too old “
At other times it would ignore it as best I could but it was always there like elevator music. In the background, annoying yet familiar.

                        

Your inner critic robs you of peace of mind, it limits you and stops you from doing what you really want. It can create all kinds of emotional turmoil and lead you to anxiety and even depression.

Do you believe that Inner Critic is you? The true you?
When you hear it, whose voice is it? A parent’s? A teacher’s? Your first boss’?
What is it telling you?
Make a list right here:

  •     
  •     
  •    

1. If your list brings up emotions such as sadness, fear or rejection take time to acknowledge them and TAP and let them go

2. How to tame your IC:
In his book “Limitless”  Jim Kwik talks about creating a separate persona for your IC. I have created mine: it is a green old witch complete with crooked nose and pointy hat and it is 100% dedicated to negativity and finding all kinds of things wrong with me. You can use any cartoon character you like!

When it gets too loud I roll my eyes and I say: You again!
Thank you for showing up today but no I don’t need your help. Go back into your box! BYE!

3. Take the first list of statements and transform them into positive ones;

  • You are stupid becomes I am intelligent and creative
  •  You are always failing becomes I succeed often and I am happy to learn
  • And so on.

My friends it is time to retire your Inner Critic and to enjoy the counsel of your Best Self!                                                                                                                                                                                                                                       

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started